Руководство и диаграмма по шкале твердости Мооса | MachineMFG

Руководство и диаграмма по шкале твердости Мооса

0
(0)

Шкала твердости Мооса

Существует два метода измерения твердости материалов: твердость царапин и твердость вдавливания при статической нагрузке. Твердость царапин, также известная как твердость по Моосу, является относительной твердостью и довольно грубой.

В качестве эталонов используются десять природных минералов. Порядок твердости не отражает абсолютную величину твердости конкретного минерала, а указывает на то, что минерал более высокого порядка твердости может поцарапать минерал более низкого порядка. Твердость других минералов определяется путем сравнения с этими стандартными минералами.

Единицей измерения твердости по Моосу является килограмм-сила на квадратный сантиметр (кгс/см²), обозначаемая как [Па]. Это стандарт для выражения твердости минерала, впервые предложенный в 1824 году немецким минералогом Фредерихом Моосом. Твердость определяется глубиной царапины, сделанной на поверхности исследуемого минерала методом царапания алмазной иглой пирамидальной формы.

Шкала твердости выглядит следующим образом: тальк - 1 (самый мягкий), гипс - 2, кальцит - 3, флюорит - 4, апатит - 5, ортоклаз (также известный как полевой шпат или периклаз) - 6, кварц - 7, топаз - 8, корунд - 9, алмаз - 10 (самый твердый). Твердость по шкале Мооса также используется для определения твердости других твердых материалов.

УровеньМинералыЭквивалент
1ТалькНет
2ГипсНогти
3КальцитМедная монета
4ФлюоритЖелезный гвоздь
5АпатитСтекло
6ОртоклазПерочинный нож
7КварцФайл
8ТопазНаждачная бумага
9КорундНет
10АлмазНет

Для более конкретного метода: чтобы определить твердость исследуемого минерала, нужно поцарапать его о стандартную твердость по шкале Мооса.

Например, если минерал может поцарапать кальцит и флюорит, то твердость этого минерала находится в диапазоне от 3 до 4. В качестве альтернативы можно использовать ноготь (твердость 2-2,5), монету (твердость 3,5) или небольшой нож (твердость 5,5), чтобы поцарапать минерал для общего определения его твердости.

Представительские названия минераловОбщее использованиеШкала твердости
Тальк, графитТальк - самый мягкий из известных минералов, обычно используемый в виде тальковой пудры.1
Кожа, природный мышьяк 1.5
ГипсПромышленные материалы2
Ледяной куб 2~3
Ногти, янтарь, слоновая кость 2.5
Золото, серебро, алюминий 2.5~3
Кальцит, медь, жемчугКальцит может использоваться в качестве резного материала и промышленного сырья.3
Ракушки, монеты 3.5
Флюорит (также известен как плавиковый шпат)Резьба, металлургия, строительные материалы4
ПлатинаРедкие металлы4~4.5
Железо 4~5
ФосфоритФосфор - важный компонент биологических клеток; он используется в качестве сырья для производства кормов, удобрений и химической продукции.5
Стекло, нержавеющая сталь 5.5
Ортоклаз, Танзанит, Чистый Титан 6
Зубы (внешний слой коронки)Основной компонент - гидроксиапатит.6~7
Мягкий нефрит - Синьцзянский нефрит Хэйтянь 6~6.5
ПиритОн используется в качестве сырья для производства серной кислоты, аффинажа золота, а также может применяться в медицинских целях.6.5
Твердый нефрит - бирманский жадеит и нефрит 6.5~7
Кварцевое стекло, аметист 7
Электрический камень, циркон 7.5
КварцСогласно старой шкале твердости, кварц оценивается в 7 баллов.8
Перидот 8.5
Топаз, хром, Вольфрамовая стальПо старой шкале твердости топаз оценивается в 8 баллов.9
МуассанитСинтетические драгоценные камни в 2,5 раза ярче бриллиантов и стоят в 1/10 часть от их стоимости.9.5
Гранат 10
Расплавленный цирконий 11
КорундПо старой шкале твердости корунд оценивается в 9 баллов. Природные драгоценные камни, такие как рубины и сапфиры, теперь считаются разновидностями корунда, как и твердость синтетических кристаллов сапфира.12
Карбид кремния 13
карбид бора 14
АлмазАлмазы оцениваются в 10 баллов по старой шкале твердости, что делает их самым твердым природным драгоценным камнем на земле.15

Что такое твердость по Моосу?

Твердость по Моосу - это стандарт, определяющий твердость минералов, впервые предложенный в 1824 году немецким минералогом Фридрихом Моосом. Этот стандарт устанавливается с помощью алмазного сверла пирамидальной формы, которое царапает поверхность минерала, а глубина царапины указывает на твердость.

Твердость минерала означает его способность сопротивляться определенным внешним механическим воздействиям, таким как царапины, вмятины или шлифовка. В минералогии часто упоминается твердость по Моосу, которая представляет собой твердость царапин по сравнению со шкалой твердости Мооса.

Шкала твердости Мооса основана на десяти минералах различной твердости, разделенных на десять уровней от низкого до высокого: 1. тальк; 2. гипс; 3. кальцит; 4. флюорит; 5. апатит; 6. ортоклаз; 7. кварц; 8. топаз; 9. корунд; 10. алмаз.

При использовании стандартных минералов их царапают о минералы с неизвестной твердостью. Если минерал можно поцарапать апатитом, но нельзя флюоритом, то его твердость определяется как 4-5.

Этот метод был создан и назван немецким профессором минералогии Фридрихом Моосом (1773-1839). Однако для точного измерения твердости минералов все же требуется микротвердомер или твердомер. Твердость минералов также является одним из физических свойств минералов. Минералы с высокой твердостью широко используются в промышленных технологиях.

Алмазы, корунды и другие минералы не только используются в промышленности, но и становятся драгоценными камнями. Как драгоценные камни, они обычно обладают высокой твердостью.

Например, твердость опала составляет 5,5-6,5, кварца - 6,5-7, сфалерита - 7,5-8, цаворита - 8,5, а твердость сапфиров и рубинов - 9, что уступает только алмазам. Люди выбирают минералы высокой твердости в качестве драгоценных камней, вероятно, потому, что они износостойки и символизируют их непреходящую ценность!

В соответствии с потребностями люди также разработали шкалу твердости драгоценных камней, чтобы определить твердость минералов, от самых мягких до самых твердых: тальк, гипс, кальцит, флюорит, апатит, циркон, корунд, карбид кремния, карбид бора, алмаз и т.д.

Когда нет стандартного минерала, самый простой способ измерить твердость - это ноготь или маленький нож. Твердость ногтя составляет 2,5, медной монеты - 3, а стекла и маленького ножа - 5. Твердость выше 6 - это почти все минералы, похожие на драгоценные камни.

Насколько публикация полезна?

Нажмите на звезду, чтобы оценить!

Средняя оценка 0 / 5. Количество оценок: 0

Оценок пока нет. Поставьте оценку первым.

Так как вы нашли эту публикацию полезной...

Подписывайтесь на нас в соцсетях!

Сожалеем, что вы поставили низкую оценку!

Позвольте нам стать лучше!

Расскажите, как нам стать лучше?

Оставьте комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

Прокрутить вверх

The Ultimate Mohs Hardness Scale Guide & Chart

Have you ever wondered about the hardness of materials around you? From the softness of talc to the unmatched hardness of diamonds, the Mohs scale offers a fascinating journey through the world of minerals. In this article, we’ll dive into the intricacies of this essential tool, exploring its history, application, and the captivating stories behind the minerals that define it. Get ready to uncover the secrets of the Mohs scale and gain a newfound appreciation for the materials that shape our world.

Unveiling the Ultimate Mohs Hardness Scale Guide & Chart

Table Of Contents

Moh’s Scale of Hardness

There are two methods to measure the hardness of materials: scratch hardness and static load indentation hardness. Scratch hardness, also known as Mohs hardness, is a relative hardness and is rather rough.

It uses ten natural minerals as standards. The hardness order does not represent the absolute size of a particular mineral’s hardness, but indicates that a mineral of higher hardness order can scratch a mineral of lower order. The hardness of other minerals is determined by comparison with these standard minerals.

The unit of Mohs hardness is kilogram-force per square centimeter (kgf/cm²), denoted as [Pa]. It’s a standard for expressing a mineral’s hardness, first proposed in 1824 by German mineralogist Frederich Mohs. The hardness is represented by the depth of the scratch made on the surface of the tested mineral using the scratch method with a pyramid-shaped diamond needle.

The hardness scale is as follows: talc 1 (softest), gypsum 2, calcite 3, fluorite 4, apatite 5, orthoclase (also known as feldspar or periclase) 6, quartz 7, topaz 8, corundum 9, diamond 10 (hardest). Mohs hardness is also used to express the hardness of other solid materials.

LevelMineralsEquivalent to
1TalcNone
2GypsumFingernail
3CalciteCopper Coin
4FluoriteIron Nail
5ApatiteGlass
6OrthoclasePenknife
7QuartzFile
8TopazSandpaper
9CorundumNone
10DiamondNone

For a more specific method: one would scratch the mineral to be tested against the standard hardness on the Mohs hardness scale to determine the hardness of the tested mineral.

For example, if a mineral can scratch calcite and be scratched by fluorite, then the hardness of that mineral is between 3 and 4. Alternatively, one can use a fingernail (hardness 2-2.5), a coin (hardness 3.5), or a small knife (hardness 5.5) to scratch the mineral in order to broadly determine its hardness.

Representative Mineral NamesCommon UsesHardness Scale
Talc, GraphiteTalc is the softest known mineral, commonly used in the form of talc powder.1
Skin, Natural Arsenic 1.5
GypsumIndustrial Materials2
Ice Cube 2~3
Nails, Amber, Ivory 2.5
Gold, Silver, Aluminum 2.5~3
Calcite, Copper, PearlsCalcite can be used as carving material and industrial raw material.3
Shells, Coins 3.5
Fluorite (also known as Fluorspar)Carving, Metallurgy, Building Materials4
PlatinumRare Metals4~4.5
Iron 4~5
PhosphoritePhosphorus is an important component of biological cells; it is used as raw material in feed, fertilizer, and chemical production.5
Glass, Stainless Steel 5.5
Orthoclase, Tanzanite, Pure Titanium 6
Teeth (outer layer of crown)The main component is hydroxyapatite.6~7
Soft Jade – Xinjiang Hetian Jade 6~6.5
PyriteIt is used as raw material for the production of sulfuric acid; gold refining; and can also be used in medicinal purposes.6.5
Hard Jade – Burmese Jadeite and Jade 6.5~7
Quartz Glass, Amethyst 7
Electric Stone, Zircon 7.5
QuartzAccording to the old hardness scale, quartz is rated as 7.8
Peridot 8.5
Topaz, Chromium, Tungsten SteelOn the old hardness scale, topaz is rated as 8.9
MoissaniteSynthetic gems are 2.5 times brighter than diamonds and cost 1/10th of the price.9.5
Garnet 10
Melted Zirconia 11
CorundumCorundum is rated as 9 on the old hardness scale. Natural gems such as rubies and sapphires are now considered types of corundum, as is the hardness of synthetic sapphire crystals.12
Silicon Carbide 13
Boron Carbide 14
DiamondDiamonds are rated as 10 on the old hardness scale, making them the hardest natural gem on earth.15

What is Mohs Hardness?

Mohs Hardness is a standard that indicates the hardness of minerals, first proposed in 1824 by German mineralogist Friedrich Mohs. This standard is established by using a pyramid-shaped diamond drill to scratch the surface of a mineral, with the depth of the scratch indicating the hardness.

The hardness of a mineral refers to its ability to resist certain external mechanical forces such as scratching, indentation, or grinding. In mineralogy, the hardness often referred to is Mohs hardness, which is the scratch hardness compared to the Mohs hardness scale.

The Mohs hardness scale is based on ten minerals of different hardness, divided into ten levels from low to high: 1. Talc; 2. Gypsum; 3. Calcite; 4. Fluorite; 5. Apatite; 6. Orthoclase; 7. Quartz; 8. Topaz; 9. Corundum; 10. Diamond.

In use, standard minerals are scratched against minerals of unknown hardness. If the mineral can be scratched by apatite but not by fluorite, its hardness is determined to be between 4 and 5.

This method was established and named by German mineralogy professor Friedrich Mohs (1773-1839). However, accurate measurement of mineral hardness still requires a microhardness tester or hardness tester. Mineral hardness is also one of the physical properties of minerals. Minerals with high hardness have been widely used in industrial technology.

Diamonds, corundum, and other minerals are not only used in industry, but also become precious gemstones. As gemstones, they usually have a high hardness.

For example, the hardness of opal is 5.5-6.5, quartz is 6.5-7, sphalerite is 7.5-8. Tsavorite is 8.5, and the hardness of sapphires and rubies is 9, second only to diamonds. People choose high-hardness minerals as gemstones, probably because they are wear-resistant, symbolizing their timeless value!

According to needs, people have also developed a gem hardness scale to identify the mineral hardness of gemstones, from the softest to the hardest minerals: talc, gypsum, calcite, fluorite, apatite, zircon, corundum, silicon carbide, boron carbide, diamond, etc.

When there is no standard hardness mineral, the simplest way to measure hardness is with a fingernail or a small knife. The hardness of a fingernail is 2.5, a copper coin is 3, and glass and a small knife are both 5. Those above 6 are almost all gemstone-like minerals.

Don't forget, sharing is caring! : )
Shane
Author

Shane

Founder of MachineMFG

As the founder of MachineMFG, I have dedicated over a decade of my career to the metalworking industry. My extensive experience has allowed me to become an expert in the fields of sheet metal fabrication, machining, mechanical engineering, and machine tools for metals. I am constantly thinking, reading, and writing about these subjects, constantly striving to stay at the forefront of my field. Let my knowledge and expertise be an asset to your business.

Up Next

H Beam Sizes and Weight Chart

Have you ever wondered about the hidden world of H-beam steel? In this captivating article, we'll unravel the mysteries behind these essential construction components. Our expert mechanical engineer will guide…
MachineMFG
Take your business to the next level
Subscribe to our newsletter
The latest news, articles, and resources, sent to your inbox weekly.
© 2024. All rights reserved.

Contact Us

You will get our reply within 24 hours.