Die ultimative Mohs-Härteskala - Leitfaden und Tabelle | MachineMFG

Die ultimative Mohs-Härteskala - Leitfaden und Tabelle

0
(0)

Mohssche Härteskala

Es gibt zwei Methoden zur Messung der Härte von Werkstoffen: die Ritzhärte und die statische Eindrückhärte. Die Ritzhärte, auch bekannt als Mohs-Härte, ist eine relative Härte und eher grob.

Sie verwendet zehn natürliche Mineralien als Standards. Die Härteordnung stellt nicht die absolute Größe der Härte eines bestimmten Minerals dar, sondern gibt an, dass ein Mineral höherer Härteordnung ein Mineral niedrigerer Ordnung ritzen kann. Die Härte anderer Mineralien wird durch den Vergleich mit diesen Standardmineralien bestimmt.

Die Einheit der Mohs-Härte ist Kilogramm-Kraft pro Quadratzentimeter (kgf/cm²), angegeben als [Pa]. Es handelt sich um eine Norm zur Angabe der Härte eines Minerals, die erstmals 1824 von dem deutschen Mineralogen Frederich Mohs vorgeschlagen wurde. Die Härte wird durch die Tiefe des Kratzers dargestellt, der mit einer pyramidenförmigen Diamantnadel in die Oberfläche des geprüften Minerals eingekratzt wird.

Die Härteskala ist wie folgt: Talk 1 (am weichsten), Gips 2, Calcit 3, Fluorit 4, Apatit 5, Orthoklas (auch als Feldspat oder Periklas bekannt) 6, Quarz 7, Topas 8, Korund 9, Diamant 10 (am härtesten). Die Mohshärte wird auch verwendet, um die Härte anderer fester Materialien auszudrücken.

EbeneMineralienÄquivalent zu
1TalkumKeine
2GipsFingernagel
3CalcitKupfermünze
4FluoritEisennagel
5ApatitGlas
6OrthoklasTaschenmesser
7QuarzDatei
8TopasSchleifpapier
9KorundKeine
10DiamantKeine

Für eine spezifischere Methode würde man das zu prüfende Mineral gegen die Standardhärte auf der Mohs-Härteskala ritzen, um die Härte des geprüften Minerals zu bestimmen.

Wenn ein Mineral beispielsweise Kalzit zerkratzt und von Fluorit zerkratzt werden kann, dann liegt die Härte dieses Minerals zwischen 3 und 4. Alternativ kann man das Mineral auch mit einem Fingernagel (Härte 2-2,5), einer Münze (Härte 3,5) oder einem kleinen Messer (Härte 5,5) ritzen, um seine Härte grob zu bestimmen.

Repräsentative Namen von MineralienHäufige VerwendungszweckeHärteskala
Talkum, GraphitTalkum ist das weichste bekannte Mineral, das üblicherweise in Form von Talkumpuder verwendet wird.1
Haut, natürliches Arsen 1.5
GipsIndustrielle Materialien2
Eiswürfel 2~3
Nägel, Bernstein, Elfenbein 2.5
Gold, Silber, Aluminium 2.5~3
Calcit, Kupfer, PerlenCalcit kann als Schnitzmaterial und Industrierohstoff verwendet werden.3
Muscheln, Münzen 3.5
Fluorit (auch bekannt als Flussspat)Schnitzerei, Metallurgie, Baumaterialien4
PlatinSeltene Metalle4~4.5
Eisen 4~5
PhosphoritPhosphor ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil biologischer Zellen und wird als Rohstoff in der Futtermittel-, Düngemittel- und Chemieproduktion verwendet.5
Glas, Edelstahl 5.5
Orthoklas, Tansanit, Rein Titan 6
Zähne (äußere Schicht der Zahnkrone)Der Hauptbestandteil ist Hydroxylapatit.6~7
Weiche Jade - Xinjiang Hetian Jade 6~6.5
PyritEs wird als Rohstoff für die Herstellung von Schwefelsäure und die Goldraffination verwendet und kann auch für medizinische Zwecke eingesetzt werden.6.5
Harte Jade - birmanischer Jadeit und Jade 6.5~7
Quarzglas, Amethyst 7
Elektrischer Stein, Zirkon 7.5
QuarzNach der alten Härteskala wird Quarz mit 7 bewertet.8
Peridot 8.5
Topas, Chrom, WolframstahlAuf der alten Härteskala wird Topas mit 8 bewertet.9
MoissanitSynthetische Edelsteine sind 2,5 Mal heller als Diamanten und kosten 1/10 des Preises.9.5
Granat 10
Geschmolzener Zirkoniumdioxid 11
KorundKorund wird auf der alten Härteskala mit 9 bewertet. Natürliche Edelsteine wie Rubine und Saphire werden heute als Korundarten angesehen, ebenso wie die Härte von synthetischen Saphirkristallen.12
Siliziumkarbid 13
Borkarbid 14
DiamantDiamanten werden auf der alten Härteskala mit 10 bewertet und sind damit der härteste natürliche Edelstein der Welt.15

Was ist die Mohs-Härte?

Die Mohshärte ist ein Standard, der die Härte von Mineralien angibt und erstmals 1824 von dem deutschen Mineralogen Friedrich Mohs vorgeschlagen wurde. Diese Norm wird ermittelt, indem die Oberfläche eines Minerals mit einem pyramidenförmigen Diamantbohrer angeritzt wird, wobei die Tiefe des Kratzers die Härte angibt.

Die Härte eines Minerals bezieht sich auf seine Fähigkeit, bestimmten äußeren mechanischen Kräften wie Kratzern, Eindrücken oder Schleifen zu widerstehen. In der Mineralogie wird häufig die Mohs-Härte genannt, die die Ritzhärte im Vergleich zur Mohs-Härteskala darstellt.

Die Mohs-Härteskala basiert auf zehn Mineralien mit unterschiedlicher Härte, die in zehn Stufen von niedrig bis hoch eingeteilt sind: 1. Talk; 2. Gips; 3. Calcit; 4. Fluorit; 5. Apatit; 6. Orthoklas; 7. Quarz; 8. Topas; 9. Korund; 10. Diamant.

In der Praxis werden Standardminerale gegen Mineralien unbekannter Härte geritzt. Wenn das Mineral von Apatit, aber nicht von Fluorit geritzt werden kann, wird seine Härte mit 4 bis 5 angegeben.

Diese Methode wurde von dem deutschen Mineralogieprofessor Friedrich Mohs (1773-1839) entwickelt und benannt. Für die genaue Messung der Mineralhärte ist jedoch nach wie vor ein Mikrohärteprüfer oder ein Härteprüfer erforderlich. Die Mineralhärte ist auch eine der physikalischen Eigenschaften von Mineralien. Minerale mit hoher Härte werden in der Industrietechnik häufig verwendet.

Diamanten, Korunde und andere Mineralien werden nicht nur in der Industrie verwendet, sondern auch als wertvolle Edelsteine. Als Edelsteine haben sie in der Regel eine hohe Härte.

Die Härte von Opal liegt beispielsweise bei 5,5-6,5, von Quarz bei 6,5-7, von Sphalerit bei 7,5-8, von Tsavorit bei 8,5 und von Saphiren und Rubinen bei 9, womit sie nach den Diamanten die zweithärteste ist. Die Menschen wählen Mineralien mit hoher Härte als Edelsteine, wahrscheinlich weil sie verschleißfest sind, was ihren zeitlosen Wert symbolisiert!

Je nach Bedarf hat man auch eine Edelsteinhärteskala entwickelt, um die Mineralhärte von Edelsteinen zu bestimmen, von den weichsten bis zu den härtesten Mineralien: Talk, Gips, Calcit, Fluorit, Apatit, Zirkon, Korund, Siliziumkarbid, Borkarbid, Diamant usw.

Wenn es kein Standardhärte-Mineral gibt, ist die einfachste Art, die Härte mit einem Fingernagel oder einem kleinen Messer zu messen. Die Härte eines Fingernagels beträgt 2,5, die einer Kupfermünze 3 und die von Glas und einem kleinen Messer 5. Die Werte über 6 sind fast alle edelsteinähnliche Mineralien.

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicke auf die Sterne um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 0 / 5. Anzahl Bewertungen: 0

Bisher keine Bewertungen! Sei der Erste, der diesen Beitrag bewertet.

Weil du diesen Beitrag nützlich fandest...

Folge uns in sozialen Netzwerken!

Es tut uns leid, dass der Beitrag für dich nicht hilfreich war!

Lasse uns diesen Beitrag verbessern!

Wie können wir diesen Beitrag verbessern?

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Nach oben scrollen

The Ultimate Mohs Hardness Scale Guide & Chart

Have you ever wondered about the hardness of materials around you? From the softness of talc to the unmatched hardness of diamonds, the Mohs scale offers a fascinating journey through the world of minerals. In this article, we’ll dive into the intricacies of this essential tool, exploring its history, application, and the captivating stories behind the minerals that define it. Get ready to uncover the secrets of the Mohs scale and gain a newfound appreciation for the materials that shape our world.

Unveiling the Ultimate Mohs Hardness Scale Guide & Chart

Table Of Contents

Moh’s Scale of Hardness

There are two methods to measure the hardness of materials: scratch hardness and static load indentation hardness. Scratch hardness, also known as Mohs hardness, is a relative hardness and is rather rough.

It uses ten natural minerals as standards. The hardness order does not represent the absolute size of a particular mineral’s hardness, but indicates that a mineral of higher hardness order can scratch a mineral of lower order. The hardness of other minerals is determined by comparison with these standard minerals.

The unit of Mohs hardness is kilogram-force per square centimeter (kgf/cm²), denoted as [Pa]. It’s a standard for expressing a mineral’s hardness, first proposed in 1824 by German mineralogist Frederich Mohs. The hardness is represented by the depth of the scratch made on the surface of the tested mineral using the scratch method with a pyramid-shaped diamond needle.

The hardness scale is as follows: talc 1 (softest), gypsum 2, calcite 3, fluorite 4, apatite 5, orthoclase (also known as feldspar or periclase) 6, quartz 7, topaz 8, corundum 9, diamond 10 (hardest). Mohs hardness is also used to express the hardness of other solid materials.

LevelMineralsEquivalent to
1TalcNone
2GypsumFingernail
3CalciteCopper Coin
4FluoriteIron Nail
5ApatiteGlass
6OrthoclasePenknife
7QuartzFile
8TopazSandpaper
9CorundumNone
10DiamondNone

For a more specific method: one would scratch the mineral to be tested against the standard hardness on the Mohs hardness scale to determine the hardness of the tested mineral.

For example, if a mineral can scratch calcite and be scratched by fluorite, then the hardness of that mineral is between 3 and 4. Alternatively, one can use a fingernail (hardness 2-2.5), a coin (hardness 3.5), or a small knife (hardness 5.5) to scratch the mineral in order to broadly determine its hardness.

Representative Mineral NamesCommon UsesHardness Scale
Talc, GraphiteTalc is the softest known mineral, commonly used in the form of talc powder.1
Skin, Natural Arsenic 1.5
GypsumIndustrial Materials2
Ice Cube 2~3
Nails, Amber, Ivory 2.5
Gold, Silver, Aluminum 2.5~3
Calcite, Copper, PearlsCalcite can be used as carving material and industrial raw material.3
Shells, Coins 3.5
Fluorite (also known as Fluorspar)Carving, Metallurgy, Building Materials4
PlatinumRare Metals4~4.5
Iron 4~5
PhosphoritePhosphorus is an important component of biological cells; it is used as raw material in feed, fertilizer, and chemical production.5
Glass, Stainless Steel 5.5
Orthoclase, Tanzanite, Pure Titanium 6
Teeth (outer layer of crown)The main component is hydroxyapatite.6~7
Soft Jade – Xinjiang Hetian Jade 6~6.5
PyriteIt is used as raw material for the production of sulfuric acid; gold refining; and can also be used in medicinal purposes.6.5
Hard Jade – Burmese Jadeite and Jade 6.5~7
Quartz Glass, Amethyst 7
Electric Stone, Zircon 7.5
QuartzAccording to the old hardness scale, quartz is rated as 7.8
Peridot 8.5
Topaz, Chromium, Tungsten SteelOn the old hardness scale, topaz is rated as 8.9
MoissaniteSynthetic gems are 2.5 times brighter than diamonds and cost 1/10th of the price.9.5
Garnet 10
Melted Zirconia 11
CorundumCorundum is rated as 9 on the old hardness scale. Natural gems such as rubies and sapphires are now considered types of corundum, as is the hardness of synthetic sapphire crystals.12
Silicon Carbide 13
Boron Carbide 14
DiamondDiamonds are rated as 10 on the old hardness scale, making them the hardest natural gem on earth.15

What is Mohs Hardness?

Mohs Hardness is a standard that indicates the hardness of minerals, first proposed in 1824 by German mineralogist Friedrich Mohs. This standard is established by using a pyramid-shaped diamond drill to scratch the surface of a mineral, with the depth of the scratch indicating the hardness.

The hardness of a mineral refers to its ability to resist certain external mechanical forces such as scratching, indentation, or grinding. In mineralogy, the hardness often referred to is Mohs hardness, which is the scratch hardness compared to the Mohs hardness scale.

The Mohs hardness scale is based on ten minerals of different hardness, divided into ten levels from low to high: 1. Talc; 2. Gypsum; 3. Calcite; 4. Fluorite; 5. Apatite; 6. Orthoclase; 7. Quartz; 8. Topaz; 9. Corundum; 10. Diamond.

In use, standard minerals are scratched against minerals of unknown hardness. If the mineral can be scratched by apatite but not by fluorite, its hardness is determined to be between 4 and 5.

This method was established and named by German mineralogy professor Friedrich Mohs (1773-1839). However, accurate measurement of mineral hardness still requires a microhardness tester or hardness tester. Mineral hardness is also one of the physical properties of minerals. Minerals with high hardness have been widely used in industrial technology.

Diamonds, corundum, and other minerals are not only used in industry, but also become precious gemstones. As gemstones, they usually have a high hardness.

For example, the hardness of opal is 5.5-6.5, quartz is 6.5-7, sphalerite is 7.5-8. Tsavorite is 8.5, and the hardness of sapphires and rubies is 9, second only to diamonds. People choose high-hardness minerals as gemstones, probably because they are wear-resistant, symbolizing their timeless value!

According to needs, people have also developed a gem hardness scale to identify the mineral hardness of gemstones, from the softest to the hardest minerals: talc, gypsum, calcite, fluorite, apatite, zircon, corundum, silicon carbide, boron carbide, diamond, etc.

When there is no standard hardness mineral, the simplest way to measure hardness is with a fingernail or a small knife. The hardness of a fingernail is 2.5, a copper coin is 3, and glass and a small knife are both 5. Those above 6 are almost all gemstone-like minerals.

Don't forget, sharing is caring! : )
Shane
Author

Shane

Founder of MachineMFG

As the founder of MachineMFG, I have dedicated over a decade of my career to the metalworking industry. My extensive experience has allowed me to become an expert in the fields of sheet metal fabrication, machining, mechanical engineering, and machine tools for metals. I am constantly thinking, reading, and writing about these subjects, constantly striving to stay at the forefront of my field. Let my knowledge and expertise be an asset to your business.

Up Next

H Beam Sizes and Weight Chart

Have you ever wondered about the hidden world of H-beam steel? In this captivating article, we'll unravel the mysteries behind these essential construction components. Our expert mechanical engineer will guide…
MachineMFG
Take your business to the next level
Subscribe to our newsletter
The latest news, articles, and resources, sent to your inbox weekly.
© 2024. All rights reserved.

Contact Us

You will get our reply within 24 hours.