Laser-Wärmebehandlung: Prinzipien, Vorteile und Anwendungen | MachineMFG

Laser-Wärmebehandlung: Prinzipien, Vorteile und Anwendungen

5
(1)

1. Prinzip der Laserwärmebehandlung

Die Laser-Wärmebehandlung ist eine Technologie zur Wärmebehandlung von Oberflächen, bei der ein Laser zum Erhitzen metallische Werkstoffe um die gewünschten Oberflächeneigenschaften zu erzielen. Der Laser wird auf die Oberfläche Metalloberfläche und wenn die Reflexion überwunden wird, dringt der größte Teil der Laserenergie in die Metalloberfläche ein und wird absorbiert.

Dies führt dazu, dass die Elektronen im Metall angeregt werden und mit dem Gitter oder anderen Elektronen kollidieren, wodurch die Wärme schnell von der Metalloberfläche ins Innere übertragen wird. Dies führt zu einer hohen Abkühlungsrate, die wiederum zu einer Verfestigung der Oberfläche führt.

Die Lasererwärmung hat eine hohe Leistungsdichte, was bedeutet, dass eine große Menge an Leistung auf einen kleinen Bereich des Werkstücks konzentriert wird. Diese hohe Leistungsdichte ermöglicht es dem Werkstück, die Austenitisierungstemperatur in dem mit dem Laser bestrahlten Bereich schnell zu erreichen.

Aufgrund der schnellen Erwärmung kann die Wärme jedoch nicht rechtzeitig durch Wärmeleitung und Wärmeabfuhr vom Werkstück abgeführt werden. Nach Abschluss der Lasererwärmung bleibt die Temperatur im größten Teil des Werkstücks niedrig.

Dadurch kann der erhitzte Bereich durch Wärmeleitung im Werkstück selbst schnell abgekühlt werden, was zu den gewünschten Wärmebehandlungseffekten wie z. B. Schwebefeuer führt.

Schematische Darstellung der Laserabschreckung

Technologie des Laserstrahl-Auftragschweißens

2. Vor- und Nachteile der Laserwärmebehandlung

Die Laserwärmebehandlung ist eine Methode zur Veränderung der Oberflächeneigenschaften von Metallen durch den Einsatz von Laserstrahlen mit hoher Leistungsdichte. Sie kann eine Härtung durch Phasenumwandlung (z. B. schwimmendes Oberflächenfeuer), Oberflächenlegierung und andere Oberflächenmodifikationen bewirken, was zu Veränderungen der Oberflächenzusammensetzung, -struktur und -eigenschaften führt, die mit anderen Mitteln nicht erreicht werden können.

Durch die Laser-Wärmebehandlung kann die Oberflächenhärte von Gusseisen über 60 Rockwell-Härtegrade (HRC) erreichen, und die Oberflächenhärte von mittleren und kohlenstoffreicher Stahl kann 70 HRC-Grade überschreiten, wodurch sich seine Verschleiß-, Ermüdungs-, Korrosions- und Oxidationsbeständigkeit sowie andere Eigenschaften verbessern und seine Lebensdauer verlängert.

Im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Wärmebehandlungsverfahren wie Hochfrequenzabschrecken, Aufkohlen und nitrierenhat die Laserwärmebehandlung mehrere Vorteile:

  1. Es werden keine zusätzlichen Materialien benötigt, lediglich die Struktur der Oberfläche des behandelten Materials wird verändert.
  2. Die behandelte modifizierte Schicht hat eine ausreichende Dicke und kann je nach Bedarf auf eine Tiefe von 0,1-0,8 mm eingestellt werden.
  3. Minimale Verformung des bearbeiteten Teils.

Die hohe Laserleistung Dichte und die kurze Wechselwirkungszeit mit dem Teil (10^-2 bis 10 Sekunden) führen zu einer minimalen thermischen Verformung und Gesamtveränderung des Teils, wodurch es sich für die Bearbeitung von Hochpräzisionsteilen als abschließendes Bearbeitungsverfahren von Materialien und Teilen eignet.

  1. Gute Verarbeitungsflexibilität und breite Anwendung.

Das flexible Lichtleitersystem kann den Laser wie gewünscht auf das zu bearbeitende Teil lenken, so dass tiefe Löcher, Innenlöcher, Sacklöcher und Nuten bearbeitet werden können. Auch selektive lokale Bearbeitungen können durchgeführt werden.

Für das großflächige Scannen müssen aufgrund des kleinen Laserspot-Bereichs mehrere überlappende Techniken, großflächige Spot-Technologie, Defokussierungsmethoden, Breitbandmethoden oder Drehspiegelmethoden verwendet werden.

Wenn Läppen schwankt die Mikrohärte im Bereich zwischen den einzelnen benachbarten Abtastbändern, und aus metallografischer Sicht ist eine makroperiodische Leistungsänderung in der geläppten Schicht zu beobachten.

Bei der großflächigen Spottechnologie führen größere Spotflächen zu geringeren Leistungsdichten bei konstanter Ausgangsleistung. Eine Vergrößerung des Strahldurchmessers kann die Vorteile der hohen Energiedichte und der schnellen Erwärmung des Lasers schwächen.

3. Anwendung der Laserwärmebehandlung

Laser-Wärmebehandlung kann bei fast allen Metalloberfläche Wärmebehandlungen. Gegenwärtig wird es häufig in Industrien mit hohem Verschleiß eingesetzt, z. B. in der Automobilindustrie, der Metallurgie, der Erdölindustrie, im Schwermaschinenbau, in der Landwirtschaft und bei High-Tech-Produkten wie in der Luft- und Raumfahrt.

1. Autoindustrie

Die Laserwärmebehandlung ist in der Automobilindustrie weit verbreitet und kann auf viele wichtige Teile eines Fahrzeugs angewendet werden, z. B. Zylinderblöcke, Zylinderlaufbuchsen und Kurbelwellen.

General Motors in den Vereinigten Staaten setzt beispielsweise mehr als ein Dutzend Kilowatt-Laser für die Wärmebehandlung in der Automobilindustrie ein. Bei wichtigen Automobilteilen wird CO2 Laser härten die Innenwand des Kommutatorgehäuses teilweise aus, mit einer Tagesleistung von 30.000 Sätzen, was zu einer vierfachen Verbesserung der Arbeitseffizienz führt.

2. Herstellung von Großlokomotiven

Die Laserwärmebehandlung wird in der Großlokomotivindustrie eingesetzt, um die Lebensdauer von Lokomotiven zu verlängern. Dazu gehört die Laserwärmebehandlung von Großkurbelwellen, Zylinderlaufbuchsen und Hauptfedern von Lokomotivdieselmotoren.

Der Formenbau in diesem Industriezweig ist komplex und erfordert hohe Präzision, verschiedene Formen und ein breites Anwendungsspektrum. Die kurze Lebensdauer der Formen führt jedoch häufig zu erhöhten Kosten und Schwierigkeiten bei der Reparatur.

Um diese Probleme zu lösen, gewinnt die Laserwärmebehandlung von Formoberflächen allmählich an Anerkennung und Akzeptanz. Diese Methode kann die Lebensdauer der Form verdoppeln, ohne durch Form oder Größe eingeschränkt zu sein.

Der Laser Oberflächenbehandlung Technologie umfasst mehrere Verfahren, darunter: Laser-Phasenumwandlung, Laser-Auftragschweißen, Laser-Legieren und Laser-Oberflächenverbundbehandlung.

1. Laser-Oberflächenabschreckung

(1) Das Prinzip der Laser-Oberflächenabschreckung

Bei der Laseroberflächenabschreckung wird ein Laser verwendet, um die Oberfläche eines Metallmaterial auf eine Temperatur oberhalb seines Umwandlungspunktes. Wenn das Material abkühlt, wandelt es sich von Austenit zu Martensit, wodurch die Oberfläche gehärtet wird. Dadurch entsteht eine Schicht mit Druckspannung, die die Ermüdungsfestigkeit der Oberfläche. Mit diesem Verfahren kann die Verschleiß- und Ermüdungsfestigkeit von Werkstoffen erheblich verbessert werden.

(2) Merkmale der Laser-Oberflächenabschreckung

Jüngste Forschungen haben gezeigt, dass die Anwendung der Laseroberflächenabschreckung, während das Werkstück unter Druck steht, und das Entfernen der äußeren Kraft nach der Abschreckung die Druckeigenspannung erhöhen und die Druck- und Dauerfestigkeit des Werkstücks verbessern kann.

Darüber hinaus führt die hohe Abschreckgeschwindigkeit der Laseroberflächenabschreckung zu einer geringeren Wärmeübertragung auf das Material, was die thermische Verformung im Vergleich zur Hochfrequenzabschreckung um 1/3 bis 1/10 reduziert. Dies reduziert die Arbeitsbelastung der nachfolgenden Arbeitsgänge und senkt die Herstellungskosten.

Der Prozess ist selbstkühlend und damit eine saubere und hygienische Wärmebehandlungsmethode. Auch die Verarbeitung von Verbundwerkstoffen lässt sich mit demselben Verfahren durchführen. Laserbearbeitung System. Dies ermöglicht eine automatische Produktion, indem Angebot und Nachfrage der Laserabschreckung direkt in die Produktionslinie integriert werden.

Da das Verfahren berührungslos arbeitet, ist es ideal für die Oberflächenabschreckung in engen Nuten und an Bodenflächen.

(3) Anwendung der Laser-Oberflächenabschreckung

Die Laseroberflächenabschreckung ist aufgrund ihrer zahlreichen Vorteile weit verbreitet. Es kann die Verschleißfestigkeit von Motor-Zylinderblöcken um mehr als das Dreifache erhöhen, die Lebensdauer von Schneidkanten an heißen Walzstahl Sie werden zum Härten von Führungsschienen von Werkzeugmaschinen, Zahnradoberflächen, Kurbelhälsen und Nocken von Motorkurbelwellen sowie verschiedenen Schneidkanten von Werkzeugen verwendet.

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicke auf die Sterne um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5. Anzahl Bewertungen: 1

Bisher keine Bewertungen! Sei der Erste, der diesen Beitrag bewertet.

Weil du diesen Beitrag nützlich fandest...

Folge uns in sozialen Netzwerken!

Es tut uns leid, dass der Beitrag für dich nicht hilfreich war!

Lasse uns diesen Beitrag verbessern!

Wie können wir diesen Beitrag verbessern?

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Nach oben scrollen

Laser Heat Treatment: Principles, Advantages, and Applications

1. Principle of laser heat treatment

Laser heat treatment is a surface heat treatment technology that uses laser to heat metal materials to achieve desired surface properties. The laser is directed towards the metal surface and if the reflection is overcome, most of the laser energy penetrates into the metal surface and is absorbed.

This causes the electrons in the metal to become excited and collide with the lattice or other electrons, rapidly transferring heat from the metal surface to its interior. This results in a high cooling rate, which in turn leads to hardening of the surface.

Laser heating has a high power density, meaning that a large amount of power is concentrated in a small area of the workpiece. This high power density allows the workpiece to rapidly reach the austenitizing temperature in the laser-irradiated area.

However, due to the rapid heating, the heat cannot be transferred from the workpiece by conduction and heat dissipation in time. After the laser heating is complete, the temperature in the majority of the workpiece remains low.

This allows the heated area to be rapidly cooled through heat conduction within the workpiece itself, resulting in desired heat treatment effects such as floating fire.

Schematic diagram of laser quenching

Laser cladding technology

2. Advantages and disadvantages of laser heat treatment

Laser heat treatment is a method of modifying the surface properties of metals by using high power density laser beams. It can induce phase transformation hardening (such as surface floating fire), surface alloying, and other surface modifications, resulting in changes in the surface composition, structure, and properties not attainable through other means.

Through laser heat treatment, the surface hardness of cast iron can reach over 60 Rockwell hardness (HRC) degrees, and the surface hardness of medium and high carbon steel can exceed 70 HRC degrees, thereby improving its wear, fatigue, corrosion, oxidation resistance, and other properties, and extending its service life.

Compared to traditional heat treatment processes such as high-frequency quenching, carburizing, and nitriding, laser heat treatment has several advantages:

  1. No additional materials are required, only the structure of the surface of the treated material is changed.
  2. The treated modified layer has a sufficient thickness and can be adjusted to a depth of 0.1-0.8mm as required.
  3. Minimal deformation of the processed part.

The high laser power density and short interaction time with the part (10^-2 to 10 seconds) result in minimal thermal deformation and overall change of the part, making it suitable for processing high-precision parts as the final processing procedure of materials and parts.

  1. Good processing flexibility and wide application.

The flexible light guide system can direct the laser to the processing part as desired, making it possible to process deep holes, inner holes, blind holes, and grooves. Selective local processing can also be carried out.

For large area scanning, multiple overlapping techniques, large area spot technology, defocusing methods, broadband methods, or rotating mirror methods must be used because the laser spot area is small.

When lapping several times, the microhardness fluctuates in the area between each adjacent scanning band and a macro periodic performance change is observed in the lapped coating from a metallographic viewpoint.

When using large area spot technology, larger spot areas result in lower power densities when the output power is constant. Increasing the beam diameter may weaken the laser’s high energy density and rapid heating advantages.

3. Application of laser heat treatment

Laser heat treatment can be applied to almost all metal surface heat treatments. Currently, it is widely used in industries with high wear and tear, such as automobiles, metallurgy, petroleum, heavy machinery, agricultural machinery, and high-tech products like aerospace and aviation.

1. Automobile industry

Laser heat treatment is widely used in the automobile industry and can be applied to many key parts of a vehicle, such as cylinder blocks, cylinder liners, and crankshafts.

For instance, General Motors in the United States uses over a dozen kilowatt-level lasers for heat treatment in the automotive industry. On key automotive parts, CO2 lasers partially harden the inner wall of the commutator shell, with a daily output of 30,000 sets, resulting in a four-fold improvement in work efficiency.

2. Large locomotive manufacturing

Laser heat treatment has been adopted in the large locomotive manufacturing industry, improving the service life of locomotives. This includes laser heat treatment of large crankshafts and cylinder liners and main springs of locomotive diesel engines.

The mold manufacturing process in this industry is complex and requires high precision, with various shapes and wide applications. However, the short life of the molds often leads to increased costs and difficulty in repair.

To address these issues, laser heat treatment of mold surfaces is gradually gaining recognition and adoption. This method can double the life of the mold without being limited by shape or size.

The laser surface treatment technology encompasses several techniques including: laser phase transformation, laser cladding, laser alloying, and laser surface composite treatment.

1. Laser surface quenching

(1) Principle of Laser Surface Quenching

In laser surface quenching, a laser is used to heat the surface of a metal material to a temperature above its transformation point. As the material cools, it transforms from austenite to martensite, which hardens the surface. This results in a layer of compressive stress, which improves the fatigue strength of the surface. By using this process, the wear and fatigue resistance of materials can be greatly improved.

(2) Characteristics of Laser Surface Quenching

Recent research has shown that applying laser surface quenching while the workpiece is under pressure and removing the external force after quenching can increase the residual compressive stress and improve the compressive and fatigue strength of the workpiece.

Additionally, the fast quenching speed of laser surface quenching results in less heat transfer to the material, which reduces thermal deformation by 1/3 to 1/10 compared to high-frequency quenching. This reduces the workload of subsequent operations and lowers manufacturing costs.

The process is self-cooling, making it a clean and sanitary heat treatment method. It is also convenient to perform compound processing with the same laser processing system. This allows for automatic production by directly integrating the supply and demand of laser quenching into the production line.

The non-contact nature of the process makes it ideal for surface quenching in narrow grooves and bottom surfaces.

(3) Application of Laser Surface Quenching

Laser surface quenching is widely used due to its numerous advantages. It can increase the wear resistance of engine cylinder blocks by more than three times, double the service life of cutting edges on hot rolled steel plate shearing machines, and is used for quenching machine tool guide rails, gear tooth surfaces, engine crankshaft crank necks and cams, and various cutting edges of tools.

Don't forget, sharing is caring! : )
Shane
Author

Shane

Founder of MachineMFG

As the founder of MachineMFG, I have dedicated over a decade of my career to the metalworking industry. My extensive experience has allowed me to become an expert in the fields of sheet metal fabrication, machining, mechanical engineering, and machine tools for metals. I am constantly thinking, reading, and writing about these subjects, constantly striving to stay at the forefront of my field. Let my knowledge and expertise be an asset to your business.

Up Next

Mastering CAD/CAM: Essential Technologies Explained

Basic Concepts of Computer-Aided Design and Computer-Aided Manufacturing Computer-aided design and computer-aided manufacturing (CAD/CAM) is a comprehensive and technically complex system engineering discipline that incorporates diverse fields such as computer [...]

Virtual Manufacturing Explained: Concepts & Principles

Concept of Virtual Manufacturing Virtual Manufacturing (VM) is the fundamental realization of the actual manufacturing process on a computer. It utilizes computer simulation and virtual reality technologies, supported by high-performance [...]

Understanding Flexible Manufacturing Systems: A Guide

A Flexible Manufacturing System (FMS) typically employs principles of systems engineering and group technology. It connects Computer Numerical Control (CNC) machine tools (processing centers), coordinate measuring machines, material transport systems, [...]

Exploring 4 Cutting-Edge Nanofabrication Techniques

Just as manufacturing technology plays a crucial role in various fields today, nanofabrication technology holds a key position in the realms of nanotechnology. Nanofabrication technology encompasses numerous methods including mechanical [...]

Ultra-Precision Machining: Types and Techniques

Ultra-precision machining refers to precision manufacturing processes that achieve extremely high levels of accuracy and surface quality. Its definition is relative, changing with technological advancements. Currently, this technique can achieve [...]

Exploring High-Speed Cutting: Tech Overview & Application

Cutting machining remains the most prominent method of mechanical processing, holding a significant role in mechanical manufacturing. With the advancement of manufacturing technology, cutting machining technology underwent substantial progress towards [...]

Top 7 New Engineering Materials: What You Need to Know

Advanced materials refer to those recently researched or under development that possess exceptional performance and special functionalities. These materials are of paramount significance to the advancement of science and technology, [...]

Metal Expansion Methods: A Comprehensive Guide

Bulge forming is suitable for various types of blanks, such as deep-drawn cups, cut tubes, and rolled conical weldments. Classification by bulge forming medium Bulge forming methods can be categorized [...]
MachineMFG
Take your business to the next level
Subscribe to our newsletter
The latest news, articles, and resources, sent to your inbox weekly.
© 2024. All rights reserved.

Contact Us

You will get our reply within 24 hours.